Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Six chapters from my life "downunder" / Yang Jiang; transl. by Howard Goldblatt; with a preface by Jonathan Spence

Main Author Yang Jiang, 1911-1916 Secondary Author Goldblatt, Howard, 1939-
Spence, Jonathan D., 1936-
Country Estados Unidos. Publication Seattle : University of Washington Press, cop. 1984 Description XIII, 110 p. : il. ; 22 cm ISBN 0-295-96081-7 CDU 895.1 YANG
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Monografia Biblioteca Fernão Mendes Pinto
BFMP 895.1 YANG - Y Não requisitável | Not for loan 453301
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

By now the world is familiar with the disastrous consequences of the ten year period (1966-1976) in China's history known as the Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution. The mistakes of Mao Zedong's later years have been officially acknowledged, and the infamous Gang of Four publicly tried and sentence for their crimes. But on the cultural front the thaw had no sooner come than gone. A campaign against what is regarded as "spiritual pollution" is being waged to inhibit free expression among creative writers.

Thousands of scholars, authors, respected professors and academicians, who as a class were the most persecuted in what some observers called China's "holocaust," are back at their respective stations, bent over the task of modernization. For understandable reasons, few have written candidly about their experiences during the Cultural Revolution. Yang Jiang is an outstanding exception.

In this memoir she give a poignant account of the more than two years she and her husband were sent "downunder" to the barren countryside for reeducation through labor. Yang Jiang touches upon any horrendous acts only in passing, or by indirection; mainly she relates in well-tempered tones the everyday incidents at their "cadre school" which add up to a harrowing tale.

Patterned after Shen Fu's "Six Chapters of a Floating Life," a minor classic of the Qing dynasty, Six Chapters form My Life 'Downunder' is a testimony of remarkable sophistication, and at the same time a powerful indictment of the madness of ignorant, totalitarian rule.. The author writes in a subtle, almost allegorical style, letting the reader share in her skepticism, disappointment, and frustration with the people, or the system, responsible for what was done to her family and her fellow victims. More in sorrow than in anger, here and there with a touch of wry humor, she records the backwardness and distrust of the peasants who were their "masters"; the utter waste of human resources; the vicious nature of political campaigns and the people involved in them; and, above all, the devotion between husband and wife which kept them going throughout their ordeal. While describing a society in one of its darkest moments, Yang Jiang reaffirms the endurance of humanity.

Although Yang Jiang lives in Beijing, Six Chapters from My Life 'Downunder' first appeared in a Hong Kong magazine in April 1981, and was published in book form there in the following month, attracting wide attention. it was published in the People's Republic of China later that year. The edition sold out quickly and no subsequent printings have been available. The present English translation, first published in the journal "Renditions," is issued here in slightly revised form and with the addition of footnotes and background notes.

Author notes provided by Syndetics

Yang Jiang was born in Beijing, China on July 17, 1911. She studied political science at Soochow University and later enrolled at Tsinghua University in Beijing. After marrying Qian Zhongshu in 1935, they moved to England and then Paris. They moved back to China in 1938. In the 1940s, Yang Jiang found success as a playwright in wartime Shanghai with a series of witty comedies. After the Communists took power in 1949, the couple moved to Beijing, where she taught and worked on translation projects.

During the Cultural Revolution, she and her husband were sent to the countryside in Henan Province and consigned to reform through labor. They remained in Henan for several years. Her memoir about these years, Six Chapters from My Life "Downunder," was published in 1981. Her other works include Baptism and We Three. She translated Don Quixote and Plato's Phaedo. She died on May 25, 2016 at the age of 104.

(Bowker Author Biography)

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.