Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Nachtstücke ; Klein Zaches ; Prinzessin Brambilla : werke 1816-1820 / E. T. A. Hoffmann; Hrsg. Hartmut Steinecke; mitarbeit von Gerhard Allroggen

Main Author Hoffmann, E. T. A. 1776-1822 Secondary Author Steimecke, Hartmut
Allroggen, Gerhard
Country Alemanha. Edition 1. Aufl Publication Frankfurt am Main : Deutscher Klassiker Verlag, 1985 Description 1200 p., [12] f. est. ; 19 cm Series E. T. A. Hoffmann Sämtliche Werke , 3 Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker , 7 ISBN 3-618-60870-5 CDU 830 HOFFMANN
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Monografia Biblioteca Geral da Universidade do Minho
BGUMD 74123 Available 314380
Total holds: 0

Author notes provided by Syndetics

German writer, composer, and painter ErnstTheodor Amadeus Hoffman was born in Konigsberg, Prussia in 1776. After beginning a career in the law, Hoffman turned to music, working as a conductor, music director, and critic, and later composing a ballet, an opera, and other works. He established himself as a writer with the four-volume story collection Phatasiestucke in Callier Manier (Fantasy Stories in the Manner of Callot), which was published in 1814-1815.

Even though he published several novels and story collections, including Nachtstucke (Hoffman's Strange Stories, 1817) and Die Serapionsbruder (The Serapion Brethren, 1819-1821), Hoffman continued to support himself as a legal official in Berlin. This struggle between artistry and bureaucracy is played out in many of his works.

Hoffman died of progressive paralysis in 1822.

(Bowker Author Biography)

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.